top of page
  • Writer's pictureBethany Brown

From Paper to 3D Prints

Once I had sorted my final designs it was time to put them on the computer, using Computer aided design programmes such as Matrix and Rhino I'm able to create renders, know the weight (before I invest in expensive materials) and evolve the designs to suit modern manufacture processes.

Below is some renders of the final designs



Before I even got to the rendering point I had tot build the design on the CAD programme, first getting the size of the bespoke cut stones right then building stone settings around it.

The photo on the left shows my starting point, working straight from the original designs (see here), but once seeing it in a technical view I saw it was far too chunky and the setting was too delicate for earrings. I went on to evolve the design in the second image, less of an overhang makes the earring lighter and the setting is far more suited to the half moon cut sapphire.

Next I went on to design the earring jacket that would make the earrings able to be worn as studs or long statement earrings


Wanting the earring jacket to have more movement I first opted for interlocking jump-rings, but after seeing it in CAD it looked cheap which didn't suit the gold and sapphires.

Next I decided to add a recess in the bottom of the drop and a hole that went through it, this way the swinging pear cut sapphire could be held in place with laser welded wire.

See more about laser welding here


Once the CAD design is finished you can add material colours to each component creating a render perfect for sending to clients and seeing which colours suit best.


I chose to have asymmetrical sapphire colours to show the sun's rise and fall over the water.

Once the render and design is completed the file can be sent on to be 3D printed in castable wax and then cast in the 18ct white and yellow gold.


Check out my next blog post to see the making of my final year pieces.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2022 by Bethany Brown Jewellery

Copyright © The designs & products on this website are copyrighted. Infringement of the copyright will be pursued vigorously.

bottom of page